Challenging Male:Female Experience

When someone tries to tell me I can’t do something… This kinda makes me more determined to try. And being the kind of woman that when I try something I don’t stop until I’ve successfully mastered it, means that as I step up to the challenge, I’m constantly in a state of development. And very competitive about it!

So when I read the following result of a What Car? survey from a few years ago, this was like a “you can’t” red flag to the competitive bull in me!

image

I’m sorry…. Say what now!!! Why should I, as a woman, pay more for a car I like?!? Game on!

As it was my 40th in January, I’d already decided this was the year I would be upgrading my 14 year old reliable Yaris for something new and more reflective of who I am becoming. So the scene is set.

Problem is – I have never haggled in my life! Cue male colleague and friend to egg me on in the background, and I am ready to go.

I used the carwow website to start the process, by telling dealers out there what I wanted and let them do the hard work of getting me their offers and deals. I then chose two I liked the sound of and messaged the dealers directly, asking them to call me to talk through what they can actually offer me – not just the blurb on the page they’d copy and pasted.

Being the type of lady I am, I was open with both of these boys in letting them know I was in negotions with a second dealer and would go for the best offer.

Then came the calls and the negotions. Like I said, I did have someone egging me on encouraging me to not settle for the first offer I received. Oh my days that was hard!!! It sounded so good!!! What if they changed their minds and pulled out?!?

The upshot is: they didn’t. They wanted the deal more than I wanted the car, so I managed to negotiate between the two dealers and arrange a PCP offer which started at £273 a month drop to £199 a month. And I asked for a full tank of petrol. Ohhh and some mats too. And they reduced GAP year insurance from £650 down to £250 when I told them I’d found it cheaper online!

And that was without the need to sashay in my heels and flutter my eyelids!!

When I went to pick up the car, the “winning dealer” wasn’t overly happy to see me – I didn’t even get offered a cappuccino when I had to go through all the paperwork! Clearly my deal ate into some of his commission – but when you look at the hefty reductions I received… Just goes to show how large the profit margins are!

So, me and my Audi-Belle are looking forward to a happy life together with so much adventure in front of us. Life truly does begin at 40! And being incredibly competitive has its bonuses. More often than not!

One thought on “Challenging Male:Female Experience

Leave a comment